The Detention Center
Nassau County Jail & Detention Center
- Operated byNassau County Sheriff's Office (Division of Corrections)
- Jail address77151 Citizens Circle, Yulee, FL 32097
- Rated capacityNot found
- CommissaryKeefe Commissary, a private contractor (sheriff's commissary page)
- Video visitation and messagingGettingOut.com
- Inmate phonesGTL (Global Tel Link), collect calls
- AccreditationSheriff's site states the office is accredited by the Florida Corrections Accreditation Commission
Source: Nassau County Sheriff's Office — Corrections · checked 2026-09-28
Transparency rating
4/10Partial- ✓The jail is named
- ✓Who is in custody
- ✗Beds and daily population — not published
- ✗What it costs taxpayers — not published
- ✗Deaths in custody — not published
- ✗PREA audits — not published
- ✗Independent inspection — not published
- ✗Who else it holds, and for how much — not published
- ✓How to post bond
- ✓Phone, video and commissary rates
The Building
You paid for it. Here is what the record says it cost.
- Year builtNot found
- Original costNot found
- Paid for byNot found
- BedsNot found
Since then
- Not found
The Sheriff
Sheriff Bill Leeper
- Runs the jailYes — the Nassau County Sheriff's Office Division of Corrections runs the Nassau County Jail & Detention Center
- How the office is filledElected, four-year term
- Detention budget requested vs. approved, by year
- Jail staffing levels and vacancy rate
- Lawsuits and settlements involving the jail
Source: Nassau County Sheriff's Office — home page · checked 2026-09-28
The Judges
Florida's circuit and county judges are elected state judicial officers, not county officials. A judge sets the first conditions of release at first appearance, within 24 hours of arrest.
Who sets bail in Nassau County
- Circuit Court: Florida's Fourth Judicial Circuit, which also serves Clay and Duval (Fla. Stat. 26.021). Circuit judges are elected circuit-wide to six-year terms and hear felonies.
- County Court: the Nassau County Court. County judges are elected countywide to six-year terms and hear misdemeanors.
- The county's bond schedule
- Share of the jail population held pretrial
- Median time from booking to first appearance
Source: the state judiciary · checked 2026-09-28
The Board of County Commissioners
They pay for the jail. In most counties the sheriff runs it; in some, the county does.
- What they controlThe sheriff's budget, including its separate line for corrections and detention: the sheriff submits it by June 1 and the board may amend, increase or reduce it (Fla. Stat. 30.49). The board also owns the jail building, and it decides by ordinance whether the sheriff or a county corrections department runs the jail (Fla. Stat. 951.061).
- What they don'tDay-to-day operations where the sheriff runs the jail. The sheriff is separately elected, and can appeal the board's budget cuts to the Governor and Cabinet sitting as the Administration Commission. No state agency inspects the jail; peer inspectors from other sheriffs' offices do.
- NoteCurrent BOCC agendas are on PrimeGov; agendas before 27 Jan 2025 plus videos and minutes are on the Clerk's site (nassauclerk.com/watch-meetings).
- The boardNassau County Board of County Commissioners →
- Where the jail money is decidedAgendas and minutes →
Notes on the record
- Old lead nassaucountysheriff.com returned a server error and its search title reads like a third-party 'Sheriff & Jail Info' site; the sheriff's own site is nassauso.com (confirmed Nassau County, Florida).
- In-custody inmate search on the sheriff's own subdomain reports people 'currently in-custody in the Nassau County Detention Facility', with bond information.
- Bond page: cash bonds paid in full at the jail reception by certified/cashier's check or money order payable to the Nassau County Clerk of Courts; no cash or cards; surety bonds through a bonding agency.
- Fees published: GettingOut messages $0.25 each, photos $0.50 each. Phone and video-visit per-minute rates not stated.
- Vendors named (Keefe, GTL, GettingOut) but no contract documents posted, so contracts = no.
- Accreditation page states FCAC accreditation; no inspection or audit report is posted.
- No PREA page found (nassauso.com/prea/ returned 404); no capacity, deaths or budget material found on the sheriff's site.
- County site nassaucountyfl.com opened (home, Agendas & Meetings); budget page not located — a guessed OMB URL returned 404 and site search is blocked by robots.txt. Budget left 'no' as not found, not as verified absent.
- County seat not stated on any page opened.
- What was tried: http(s)://www.nassaucountysheriff.com (refused, then server error); www.nassauso.com (refused before search; opened after).
- State inspection/oversight: Florida requires every county jail to meet the Florida Model Jail Standards and to be inspected each year, but the inspectors come from other sheriffs' offices, not a state agency, and state law does not require the reports to be published.
These three offices decide who sits in a cell in Nassau County and what it costs the people who live here. Nationally, almost 77% of the people who died in local jails in 2019 had not been convicted of anything, and suicide was the leading single cause of those deaths (Bureau of Justice Statistics, Mortality in Local Jails, 2000–2019).
How much is your sheriff — and your judge — costing you?
Your VOTE is POWERFUL.
The sheriff is elected. So are the county commissioners who pay for the jail, and the judges who set bail.
Names verified 2026-09-28 · dollars and outcomes still being gathered